Serving Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, San Saba, Travis and Williamson Counties

News (page 2)

TTCF Trauma Champion Award for 2014

Texas Trauma Coordinators Forum (TTCF), February 11, 2014 Meeting:
The TTCF Trauma Champion Award for 2014 went to Garrett Hall and Irene Lopez for their strong and unprecedented work in supporting the trauma registry and data management aspect of the trauma system. They have served as chair/co-chair of the TTCF Trauma Registry Committee and have developed the robust and informative Texas Trauma Registrars website. They also have participated in the Texas Trauma designation education courses by providing the trauma registry education lecture. Additionally, they have worked with TETAF to create the data management course as an educational tool to develop skills such as data input, abstraction and reporting. Both are very involved in the data management/registry education aspects of their own trauma service regions. Also, they have been involved in the Trauma Registry solutions work group and provided knowledge and expertise to the state trauma registry staff as they have moved through the very difficult roll-out and implementation process. Data is the key in supporting performance improvement, injury prevention, legislative initiatives and funding opportunities.

Congratulations and much appreciation go to Hall and Lopez.
(Source: Texas Trauma Coordinators Forum)

DSHS Announces 2012 Emergency Medical Services Awards

The Texas EMS and trauma community honored its best during Texas EMS Conference in November. The awards were announced at the Tuesday luncheon. Congratulations to the 2012 winners!

  • EMS Public Information and Injury Prevention Award - Fayette County EMS
  • EMS Citizen Award – Jasiah Rubalcava, San Antonio
  • EMS Educator Award – Ronna Miller, MD, Dallas
  • Designated Trauma Facility Award – Citizens Medical Center, Victoria
  • EMS Telecommunicator – Patricia Ancelet, EMT-I, Austin
  • EMS Administrator – Bryan Taylor, EMT-P, Seminole
  • EMS Medical Director Award – Henry Boehm, MD, Washington County
  • EMS First Responder – Kemah Fire Department
  • EMS Provider Award – Austin County EMS
  • EMS Person of the Year – Phillip Rogers, EMT, Grand Prairie
  • GETAC Journey of Excellence Award – Ronnie Stewart, MD, San Antonio
  • Texas EMS Hall of Fame – Van Williams, Friendswood

Source: Texas EMS Magazine January/February 2013

Area hospitals “Get With The Guidelines”

Central Texas hospitals recognized for quality cardiac and stroke care [ NEWS RELEASE: July 11, 2012]

AUSTIN, Texas – Several Austin-area hospitals have been recognized for achievement in using evidence-based guidelines to provide the best possible care to patients through the American Heart Association / American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines® and Mission: Lifeline® programs. The honored hospitals are featured in a special advertisement in US News & World Report, published online at, and in the publication’s “Best Hospitals Guidebook,” available in print in August.

Three area hospitals were among 1,041 nationwide to receive recognition under Get With The Guidelines, a hospital-based quality-improvement program that helps hospitals follow scientific guideline-based treatment for heart failure and stroke patients. Hospitals are recognized based on reductions in patient deaths within 30 days of leaving the hospital, and lower rehospitalization rates. Award levels—Gold Plus, Gold, Silver Plus and Silver—are based on length of adherence to the quality measures.

Area hospitals honored under Get With The Guidelines were:

St. David’s Medical Center, Austin (Gold Plus—Stroke)
Scott & White Hospital, Round Rock (Gold Plus—Stroke)
Scott & White Memorial Hospital, Temple (Silver Plus—Stroke)

Ten area hospitals were among the 225 nationwide honored for achievement in Mission: Lifeline, a coordinated system of care that helps communities speed up and streamline the process of diagnosing and treating heart attacks – from the first 911 call to in-hospital treatment. Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were given to both receiving hospitals (those that meet standards for lifesaving heart attack treatments such as angioplasties that restore blood flow); and referral hospitals (facilities that meet standards for promptly diagnosing heart attacks, providing initial care, stabilizing patients and transporting them to a receiving center for further treatment).

Hospitals honored under Mission: Lifeline included:

Seton Medical Center Austin (Gold—Receiving)
Scott & White Hospital, Round Rock (Silver—Receiving)
Scott & White Memorial Hospital, Temple
St. David’s North Austin Medical Center
Heart Hospital of Austin (Bronze—Receiving)
Seton Medical Center Hays
St. David’s Medical Center, Austin
St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center
St. David’s South Austin Medical Center
Central Texas Medical Center, San Marcos (Bronze—Referral)

“The American Heart Association is pleased to recognize its top Get With The Guidelines participants,” said Stephanie Chapman, Senior Director of Quality & Systems Improvement with the American Heart Association’s SouthWest Affiliate. “Healthcare providers who use Get With The Guidelines are armed with the latest evidence-based guidelines and immediate access to clinical decision support, using a set of tools that have been shown to improve delivery of evidence-based care. The goal of this initiative is to improve the quality of life and help reduce deaths and disability among patients with heart disease and stroke.”

“Published scientific studies are providing us with more and more evidence that Get With The Guidelines works,” said Kent Ferguson, Board Chairman for the American Heart Association’s Capital Area Division. “Patients are getting the care they need when they need it. That’s resulting in improved survival. We salute the local hospitals chosen by the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association to be honored in US News & World Report.”

In addition to the US News & World Report advertisement, Central Texans can use the new interactive map at to find the nearest award-winning hospital in their region.

To learn more -
Glen Huschka, American Heart Association
Phone: 512.338.2422 Cell: 512.431.6725

DSHS Announces 2011 Emergency Medical Services Awards News Release November 22, 2011

The Texas Department of State Health Services presented its annual emergency medical services and trauma awards today. The following winners were recognized at an awards luncheon during the 2011 Texas EMS Conference in Austin:

  • EMS Public Information/Injury Prevention Award – Arlington Fire Department
  • EMS Citizen Award – David “DJ” Herbort, Jr., Fredericksburg
  • EMS Educator Award – GETAC Education Committee
  • Designated Trauma Facility Award – Shannon Medical Center, San Angelo
  • EMS Administrator Award – Ernesto Rodriguez, Austin
  • EMS Medical Director Award – Dr. Levon Vartanian, Spring
  • Outstanding RAC Award – Capital Area Trauma RAC, Austin
  • EMS Air Medical Service Award – Southeast Texas Air Rescue, Beaumont
  • EMS First Responder Award – Blue Mound VFD and Windthorst VFD (tie)
  • EMS Private/Public Provider Award – Cypress Creek EMS
  • EMS Person of the Year Award – Lisa Camp, Friendswood
  • GETAC Journey of Excellence Award – Pete Wolf, Windthorst

(News Media Contact: Chris Van Deusen, DSHS Assistant Press Officer, 512-458-7753.)
[back to top]